1,300 Miles and the Same Old Songs

Here are some Oldies I enjoyed over a span of thirteen hundred miles.

Novos Baianos – Acabou Chorare (1972)

Sort of like: Brazil, a jam band.

YOUTUBE PREVIEW

Zoot Woman – Living In A Magazine (2001)

Sort of like: Junior Boys, just Junior Boys, but it’s good. Really.

YOUTUBE PREVIEW

Sparklehorse – Good Morning Spider (1998)

Sort of like: the Flaming Lips, Murk.

YOUTUBE PREVIEW

Pavement – Wowee Zowee (1995)

Sort of like: An under-appreciated Pavement album.

YOUTUBE PREVIEW

All are highly recomended.  In fact, they’re some of my favorite albums.  I really don’t know why it took so long for me to gush about them.  (I didn’t check any of the links, so tell me if any don’t work).

3 Responses to “1,300 Miles and the Same Old Songs”

  1. […] like a good list because two of the top ten albums have already been featured here on PutItUp, Acabou Chorare(1) and Carlota(8).  The list is down after the jump, but here’s the top […]

  2. Barack Obama’s book, “The Audacity of Hope,” shows a catchy title. It has an idea of bravery mixed with full confidence. There is nothing Pollyanna about this. I will not support every little thing he tells, but he’s our president, as well as for me, he inspires belief. That will do more for a country than any number of backroom deals. Hope gives us energy, and energy sustains us through trying times. Boy, we’ve had them. I’m from West Texas, and I did not vote for Bush. When McCain ran against Obama, I used to be a citizen of Arizona, but I gave audacious hope a chance. The fight for progress and laying the foundations of prosperity is not over. I’ve seen the quips of those that don’t believe Obama is able to do it. But step back a second. Would anyone have most of us fail in order to tarnish the star of an incumbent for whom they didn’t vote? Attempting to keep our priorities straight, let’s work together with this president and build our future.

  3. lacoste minneapolis Says:

    Hi,this is really a beautiful jeans,I like the classic jeans.

Leave a comment