IKYGS Part II – The Return


I Know You Got Soul Disc II

Here’s what is.  I said last week that disc one has two of my favorite songs ever on it, utter classics.  Disc two does not.  That’s not to say that every song on here isn’t great, because they are.  In fact, disc two is a stronger tape all the way through.  Let me tell you about just a few of the tracks on here.

The Miracles and Motown’s best(?) track, ‘The Tracks Of My Tears’ starts us off.  You have the gargantuan Pattie LaBelle version of ‘Take Me For a Little While’ and ‘Baby, You’re Right,’ proof  JB had it even before ‘Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag.’  Then there’s the cheesy/great strings of Jackie Edwards’ Caribbean soul. My favorite Sam Cooke song is on here as well as Lee Dorsey, New Orleans’ own one of a kind legend.  And it all wraps up with a live cut so good, I feel lucky just to have the mp3.

Tracks below…

  1. The Tracks of My Tears – Smokey Robinson & the Miracles
  2. Ace of Spades – O.V. Wright
  3. She Took You For a Ride – Aaron Nevelle
  4. Take Me For a Little While – Pattie LaBelle & the Bluebelles
  5. Devil in His Heart – The Donays
  6. Baby, You’re Right – James Brown
  7. Soul Fingers – The Bar-Keys
  8. Put Your Tears Away – Jackie Edwards
  9. Shop Around –  Smokey Robinson & the Miracles
  10. (I Love Her So Much) It Hurts Me – The Majestics
  11. Mercy, Mercy – Don Covay
  12. Bring it on Home to Me – Sam Cooke
  13. A Lover Was Born – Lee Dorsey
  14. The Dark End of the Street – James Carr
  15. Movin’ On Up/I Can’t Turn You Loose – Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd St. Rhythm Band

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: