Summer Drool II

For those of you that liked the mixtape I made around this time last year–and for those that didn’t–I’d like to preset its follow-up, Summer Drool II.  Although I wasn’t planning on putting this up for a while, I took a walk to get some cocktails with it yesterday and felt arguably drunker on the way there than the way back. Unlike my last few mixtapes which may have (hopefully) inspired some head, ear or heartache, the Drool tapes’ purpose is simply to share some no-fuss, feel-good pop music. I hope that at some point this  can be heard with good company on a patio at twilight (drink in hand). And if the job’s done right, 30-minutes in everyone should be dancing on chairs by pounding fists into the air–or at least behaving like these hooligans: delightc

SUMMER DROOL II

With 17 hearty summertime songs, I think I’ve put enough together to endure a long hot season, wherever you may be. And yes, Summertime Clothes is on it. Find the rest of the track list after the clicker.

1. YACHT – Psychic City

2. The Smiths – Ask

3. Arthur Russell – Your Motion Says

4. Boat Club – Warmer Climes

5. The Tough Alliance – A New Chance

6. Animal Collective – Summertime Clothes

7. Neon Indian – Deadbeat Summer

8. City Center – Summer School

9. The Intelligence – Thank You God For Fixing the Tape Machine

10. Dinosaur Jr. – Imagination Blind

11. The Clean – Outside the Cage

12. The Go-Betweens – Cattle and Cane

13. Woven Bones – With You Alone

14. The Boo Radleys – I Feel Nothing

15. Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti – Can’t Hear My Eyes

16. Section 25 – Looking For a Hilltop (Restructure from Fact 90)

17. Gang Gang Dance – Dust

2 Responses to “Summer Drool II”

  1. Your best yet. This’ll be playing in my car for a while. intelligence and neon indian are early favs.

  2. […] weeks ago when I first heard YACHT’s new single “Psychic City” (which opens up my summer mix), I knew that I had a good thing coming. After hearing some of their older releases though, my […]

Leave a Reply

