Renowned Author Dan Brown writes prose like a monkey surfer eating a hamburger as wide as the ocean on which he surfs.

Okay, so…I have never read Dan Brown (Da Vinci Code), nor do I ever intend to. But I DO read language log. Quite avidly. And I stumbled across an entire string of Brown-bashing posts by Geoffrey K. Pullum, one of the contributors to the log.

I found them to be hilarious and great. It doesn’t make me want to read Dan Brown, but it does make me want to read more and more articles bashing his prose style into “a heap on the floor.”

I strongly suggest you read all of the links I’m providing…even if you’re not a language nerd like me I think they’re insightful and funny and they say a lot about the general reading public.

Here’s a quick excerpt of Pullum’s opinion of Brown:

“I’m sorry, but this man is simply not competent to write prose for public consumption. He should be dictating his wild, action-filled plots to a literate ghostwriter who knows how to string description and dialog together.”

Ok here’s the links to Pullum’s many bashings. “again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again

Leave a Reply

