The NeverEnding Story…indeed.

So, a crappy year in film should inspire those hard working people in Hollywood, right?  I mean, shouldn’t the fact that “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” only took home technical awards tell you that people are smart enough to realize that Fincher took a CGI dump (although, a gorgeous dump) on a Forrest Gump remake?  Hollywood doesn’t think so!  Instead of searching for that great new screenplay, director, or original idea, the execs at the studios find it easier just to hire a couple kids with iphones to scour IMDB and pick out a piece of nostalgia from a generation’s childhood that they can exploit.

A ton of “Coming Soon” blogs report that Warner Bros. is in the works to make a modernized version of “The NeverEnding Story”.  I’m not gonna go overboard and claim that Hollywood is destroying a cinematic classic, but come ON!  I’m just expressing my pre-emptive anger caused by the moment when I see the teaser trailer before Will Smith’s “Karate Kid” (rumored), showing Falkor looking like a CGI composite of all three of the Jonas Brothers and starring Michael Cera, Miley Cyrus, and Dwayne Johnson as the Rock Biter. (Ha…get it?)

Like I said, I am not gonna be one of those people that claims that “The NeverEnding Story” changed my life and blah blah blah, but I will be one of those people that claims that the theme song changed my life.  Once again, I’m pre-pissed off because you know someone at Warner Bros. will screw it up and do something like pay for “six million dollar man” surgery for Travis Barker and get Blink 182 back together to redo it. In a the spirit of a mini nostalgia fest, and to calm me down, here is a video of Kid’s Inc. singing the song that NeverEnds…in your heart.

P.S. I dream of the Flaming Lips using their Warner Bros. contacts to try and take a stab at the theme song.

P.P.S. I feel like I should say both, “I’m sorry” and “You’re welcome” for such a long post on this subject. 😀

2 Responses to “The NeverEnding Story…indeed.”

  1. I will gladly accept kevin’s “You’re Welcome.” This is a terrific and very well spoken post.

    It’s funny how Dwayne Johnson’s film career consists of him briefly trying to take a stab at “adult” cinema only to quickly dwindle into the most trivial of children’s films. His career couldn’t be more analogous to most studios’ intentions. Sure they should have the right to relieve themselves of whatever kid-propaganda they’ve ingested – but they really should keep their dirty pedophilic paws off the classics.

  2. tinxwinx Says:

    Along with the remake of the film, I am looking for a producer for The Neverending Story on stage at Javits Convention Center in New York City. Both an opera and ballet score have been composed by Siegfried Matthus. Please visit my website for more details by following the link below.

    http://www.the-neverending-story.com

Leave a Reply

