The End is Nigh

So I just finished reading Watchmen (in spectacularly commonplace fashion – right before the release of the film) and I got to thinking about the film. It is my opinion that it will be inevitably bad. Don’t get me wrong, the book is an extremely entertaining read, I just feel that the film’s reportedly faithful rendering of it will be its ultimate downfall.

I am all for authenticity when it comes to source material, but I would like to point out cases where films particularly shone because they chose to take the source as a springboard rather than a bible. Off the top of my head, Kubrick comes immediately to mind. Read A Clockwork Orange and especially 2001 if you want to get where I am coming from. The Unbearable Lightness of Being, a more controversial pick on my part, is another direction in which I would point.

The case here is a little different. As a graphic novel, Watchmen is in many ways cinematic. At the same time, it is also relies upon its medium. The clever (albeit often obvious) banter between text and picture is simply something a film cannot produce. I guess they could try with voice overs, but that is always a road wearily traveled. I will be seeing the film, although my hopes are not as high as some other people I know. Any thoughts out there?

11 Responses to “The End is Nigh”

  1. I have similar apprehensions. I’m still open to the movie proving me completely different or at least being a great romp with the superhero genre.

    Other notable springboard scifi’s:

    Solaris (Tarkovsky’s of course)
    Dune (Lynch)
    The Man Who Fell to Earth (Roeg – a personal favorite)

  2. kevin y. Says:

    It all hinges on how they do the ending for me…

    and lets be honest here…how popular the movie gets…
    If it reaches 300 status, the novel is far better of course 😉

  3. well…of course. adaptions always do better when taking creative liberty. but on the topic of its success, whether you can appreciate it or not, snyder hammered the aesthetic with “300”, and i think its safe for the studios and viewers to stay on the bandwagon until he proves otherwise.

    as far as 2001, clarke and kubrick wrote both the book and screenplay simultaneously, so that’s a moot point.

    good post

  4. you are right about 2001. for some reason that slipped my mind.

  5. however, clarke and kubrick still had their artistic differences. notably with the ending, which was eventually decided by kubrick given his larger hand (financially and/or artistically) in the direct filmmaking process …

    … also while i’m not sure what “hammered” means in regards to “300” one must take into consideration the morals of aesthetics and the morals of contemporarily contextualizing racial and cultural filmic portrayals.

  6. and those are…

  7. i know what you are saying about adaptations taking creative liberty, and it does seem obvious, but (especially with graphic novels) just watch the outcry that comes when even the slightest thing is changed.

  8. i’m mainly worried about character development here. there are a few scenes that are going to come across laughable if they take them off the page and put them on the screen (and i liked them in the novel).

  9. yeah. i think it’s for that reason they haven’t adapted the sandman.

  10. previous post from nick

  11. and, also, if the nite owl does not look overweight (and 40 years old) they failed on many levels.

Leave a Reply

