Music for Colder Weather (For You and Me Both)

I’ve been telling John about this post for a while. There are a few albums, 3, that I’ve been listening to a lot lately and have become, in a few words, “all time faveskies.” Since 2008 has almost completely blown it, its been easy to give these a few hundred listens to. And they’re just perfect for the weather, and work even better with the upcoming Eves we’ll be having. Each of them are a little different, but I love the lot.

The Chameleons UK – Strange Times

I love this. Post-punk at its finest. Sounds like the Cure if the Cure knew what they were doing . Sounds like Joy Division, New Order, The Wake, yadda…and at times quite a lot like British Sea Power. Also, it came out in ’86, the year a few of us were born which is another good silly reason to love it.

Disco Inferno – D.I. Go Pop

Lots of “sound collage” in this one. I don’t really know how to describe it except that now, with the upcoming winter and a great big hopeful year heading my way, it’s perfect.

And last,

Arthur Russell – Calling Out of Context


What can I say about this guy. He’s clearly influenced a lot of the artists I like now–Jens, Panda Bear, TV on the Radio, to name a few… From folk to noise stuff, everything this guy touches (especially when he touches his cello) is golden. This is a big claim but the Male Joni might not be too far off the bat. His voice and all its directions throw me for a loop and a half. I’ve been listening to this album a lot lately. Great pop songs with simple, sweet, beautiful lyrics.

2 Responses to “Music for Colder Weather (For You and Me Both)”

  1. pffff. we all had D.I. Go Pop two years go. ~Kevin

  2. shiv! the chameleons link got me to arthur russell again. could you fix it?

Leave a Reply

