Errol Morris on Re-enactments

Chocolate Drink from Thin Blue Line

Re-enactments: the devil’s game or a tool misunderstood? One of the greatest living minds in filmmaking weighs in:

The engine of uncovering truth is not some special lens or even the unadorned human eye; it is unadorned human reason. It wasn’t a cinéma vérité documentary that got Randall Dale Adams out of prison. It was a film that re-enacted important details of the crime. It was an investigation – part of which was done with a camera. The re-enactments capture the important details of that investigation. It’s not re-enactments per se that are wrong or inappropriate. It’s the use of them. I use re-enactments to burrow underneath the surface of reality in an attempt to uncover some hidden truth.

Continue reading on his NYTimes blog. As always, his strong opinions on truth and objectivity dominate the article. His massive series of posts on Roger Fenton has less to do with filmmaking but is an equally fascinating read.

Be sure to check out the trailer for Standard Operating Procedure, his new film — if you haven’t already.

10 Responses to “Errol Morris on Re-enactments”

  1. […] Play It Again, Sam (Re-enactments, Part One) Al so check out the trailer to Errol Morris new film Standard Operating Procedure “Is it possible for a photograph to change the world? Photographs taken by soldiers in Abu […]

  2. Hello to every body, it’s my first go to see of this website; this webpage carries remarkable and actually excellent data in favor of readers.

  3. What’s up mates, good post and nice urging commented here, I am in fact enjoying by these.

  4. When someone writes an article he/she maintains the idea of a user in his/her mind that
    how a user can know it. Thus that’s why this paragraph is outstdanding. Thanks!

  5. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail.

    I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  6. I truly love your site.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my very own blog and would like to learn where you got this from or what the theme is called. Thanks!

  7. This is my first time go to see at here and
    i am truly impressed to read all at single place.

  8. hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this website, since I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances
    times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can
    damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content.

    Ensure that you update this again soon.

  9. You need to take part in a contest for one of the greatest blogs online.

    I will highly recommend this website!

Leave a Reply

